multiplying moleskin

I’m packing for a trip and that always includes making sure I have something to write in as I sit at the airport. Some of my best thoughts and words find their way onto a page in a departure lounge.

IMG_8528

As I looked around for which moleskin to bring, I realized I have started a new one many times over in the last dozen years. Only to “forget” and buy a new one for the next adventure.

So I have a small stack of barely broken in books. And so I wondered…do I start another new one? Or do I fill in the one that started in 2010? And if someone ever reviews my works after I’m gone (ha!) there will be a maze of timelines as the dates jump from book to book and over to a new one.

I decided to take the dramatic red moleskin on this trip. And continue my wonderings on the lined pages that began when I brought home my latest dog, Cooper, more than four years ago.

In the search for the book to bring, I came across this…

It’s hard to be happier

It’s hard to be happier with the sun-starched shirts coming crisply off the line

Folding themselves in perfect thirds

Tiny dotted sheets luffing in the backyard breeze

Pants lined in a row – darkening with dryness

Blankets giving up the dog’s hair for freshness

It’s hard to be happier than at this moment

A great reminder in these gloomy dark days of winter. And some inspiration to get me ready for tomorrow’s airport lounge.

For 2016, I’ve decided to trying sketching every day – which of course requires a new sketchbook.

Stay tuned and happy holidays, wherever you are.

 

 

About whatevercomestomindcjr

I write for work and blog for fun, writing about whatever comes to mind...that might include nature, food, dogs and creativity.
This entry was posted in travel, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment